Christkindlmarket Leaving | Commissioners’ Award Nominees | Hoppy Easter

Donate Today

Christkindlmarket Leaving

Christkindlmarket Naperville won’t be returning to Naper Settlement this year. The Naperville Heritage Society announced yesterday that the popular German holiday market has ended its three-year run in town, after establishing as an outpost of the popular Chicago market, run by German American Events. The event brought over 200,000 visitors to the settlement for specialty food, drinks, and gifts. Naper Settlement is currently in conversation to develop a new holiday experience at their site this winter. A representative from German American Events said they plan to explore other communities for the market, and will be announcing a new location later this year.


Commissioners’ Award Nominees

Do you know a police officer who has gone beyond the call of duty? Well the Naperville Board of Fire and Police Commissioners is seeking nominations from residents for their annual Commissioners’ Award. The honor is given to an outstanding member of the police department for giving back to the service through mentoring, volunteering, and acting as a role model to fellow members of the department and the community. It will be given out at the Citizens Appreciate Public Safety awards banquet in May. You can nominate a member of the department by Friday, April 19, and nomination forms can be found on the commissioners’ website.


Hoppy Easter

Ready for an egg-cellent Easter celebration? Well you can hop on over to Safety Town this Saturday for Hoppy Easter. Go on an egg hunt, collect treats, meet some real bunnies and chicks, and meet the Easter Bunny himself. It’s $10 admission per family, and attendees are asked to bring a non-perishable food item that will go to Loaves & Fishes.


NCC Hampshire Honors

Congratulations to a trio of graduating North Central College football players on their selection into the National Football Foundation’s Hampshire Honors Society. The Society honors senior players who maintained at least a 3.2 cumulative GPA over the course of their collegiate careers. The three NCC honorees are defensive lineman Jake Rogers, defensive back Matt Sutherland, and linebacker DJ Warkenthien. The Cardinals have had 67 players named to the list since 2007.