District 204 Swears in New School Board

Donate Today

With two board members re-elected and two new ones taking their seats, District 204’s new school board took the oath of office.

Newcomers to the board are Laurie Donahue and Susan Taylor-Demming.

They replace Dr. Maria Curry and Dr. Benny White, who were both recognized for their service to the board.

Neither sought reelection, and White was elected to a seat on Naperville City Council.

The new board also elected their new officers, with Michael Raczak taking the role of board president.

“Mike has the time and energy to lead this board, he’s very familiar to leadership roles, as most of you know he’s been principal at May Watts Elementary and Hill Middle School, as well as many other capacities,” said Lori Price, District 204 board member.

Justin Karubas was named vice-president and Lori Price as secretary.

Although he voted yes for each officer, board member Mark Rising expressed displeasure with the officer selection process, stating that they could do a better job with equity and transparency.

The new board will meet again on May 15.

Naperville News 17’s Blane Erwin reports.