New Council Inauguration Ceremony

Donate Today

The Returning Members

Five new council members were sworn in at the Special City Council Meeting: Inauguration Ceremony.

Mayor Steve Chrico has been elected for another term. He started by thanking his family and supporters, then reminded the group it’s not a time to be complacent.

“I think this is a time for us to press forward. We’ve accomplished a great deal over many decades and it wasn’t by standing back and allowing things to come to us,” said Chirico. “We need to move forward and go get them. And I will pledge to work my hardest to do just that so we can maintain the standards that we have.”

Returning council member Paul Hinterlong also thanked the voters and committee. The councilman has been doing this for 10 years, but his work is not done yet.

“As the mayor said we have a lot to do in the next four years and I plan on digging in deep and getting it done,” said Hinterlong.

Incumbent Councilwoman Patty Gustin wants to continue her commitment to making sure the community is safe and prosperous. 

“I’m so happy and blessed to be able to continue serving on the city of council for the city of Naperville,” said Gustin.

The First-Time Members

First-time members Councilman Patrick Kelly and Councilwoman Theresa Sullivan were also sworn in.

“I’m just looking forward to adding a new voice to the council. Somebody with a young family will be a good perspective I hope. I’m going to do my best to represent everybody throughout the whole city,” said Kelly.

“There are a lot of you here today that helped with my campaign. And even before the campaign started said ‘you know you should run, you should do this,’ and how many times I said absolutely not. I will never do this and people kept saying you should and I did and they helped and I just want to thank all of you from the bottom of my heart,” said Sullivan.

The ceremony ended with the convening of the new council.

Naperville News 17’s Aysha Ashley Househ reports.