Naperville Now 01-16-19

Donate Today

DuPage Election Commission Dissolved:

The DuPage Election Commission will be disbanded, with its responsibilities now to be handled by the DuPage County Clerk’s office. The DuPage County Board voted 11 to seven yesterday to push the merger through, after a vote of confidence from voters in a referendum last March, and a state law allowing the change signed in July. Though Republicans were eager to make the switch after past problems with the commission, Democrats voting against the move, as well as the county clerk, would have liked more time to plan for the change. Those plans will now need to be made in time for the April 2 election.

Residential Zoning Approved Near Naperville Crossings:

The door is open for more residential development in south Naperville. At last night’s Naperville City Council meeting, the dais voted unanimously to approve the rezoning of land in the Naperville Crossings development from commercial to medium-density residential. The property has sat vacant for 15 years due to lack of street visibility from either 95th Street or Route 59. Five south Naperville residents spoke against the zoning change, citing traffic concerns and overcrowding in District 204 schools. But council decided to go ahead with the rezoning, hoping the additional residents will improve business in the area.

Benedictine Freezes Tuition:

Benedictine University students won’t be paying higher tuition and fees for the 2019-2020 school year, as the University has decided to freeze those costs at $34,290. It’s a move geared to help ease the financial burden of their students, ninety-eight percent of whom currently receive financial assistance of some sort. According to the College Board, the average cost of tuition for private colleges in the U.S. typically increases by 2.4 percent each year.

Local Players Make All Star Game:

15 local hockey players were selected for the Illinois West All Star game, played last night at All Seasons Ice Arena. Players came from a variety of local leagues with five from the Warriors Hockey Club, four from Naperville Central, and two each from Neuqua Valley, Naperville North, and Benet. The teams were split into Team Dyson and Team Hawkins, with Team Dyson coming away with a 10-4 victory.